About Us

New members are always welcome!

For information on membership, sponsorship, grant programs, scholarship or safety town, please contact the Junior Women at:

Junior Women’s Club of Mentor
PO Box 1325
Mentor, Ohio 44061

Phone: 440.606.6401

Email: [email protected]

2021/2022 General Meeting Schedule

Meetings are held on the second Thursday of each month from September through April.  Our meeting location is the Fellowship Hall in Mentor United Methodist Church, 8600 Mentor Ave., Mentor, Ohio. Meeting start time is 7:30 pm. Due to COVID, we are encouraging masks and social distancing.

  • September 9
  • October 14
  • November 11
  • December TBD
  • January 13
  • February 10
  • March 10
  • April 14
  • May 12

About Junior Women

The Junior Women’s Club of Mentor (JWCM) has had a strong presence in Lake County since 1962.

The women of the JWCM volunteer their time and resources compassionately and selflessly.  We appreciate the support of our community by attending our events, donating cash awards and gifts for our fundraiser and by sponsorship of Safety Town.

JWCM values the safety of our children and has sponsored the Mentor Safety Town since 1987 in partnership with the Mentor Fire and Police Departments. State Board certified teachers are hired to instruct the children and local area students volunteer as teen aides.  For information, download our brochure.

Additional community service is performed via Scholarships, an Angel Fund, volunteerism. Donations are made to various organizations including, but not limited to:

  • Birthright
  • Crossroads
  • Deepwood Foundation
  • Forbes House
  • Lake County Victim Assistance Program
  • Lifeline for the Empowerment of Consumers, Inc.
  • Project Hope for the Homeless Ecumenical Shelter Network of Lake County, Inc.
  • St. James Lunch Program
  • The Salvation Army Learning Zone
  • Victim Assistance Program

Junior Mission Statement: Strive to enrich the community through Spirit, Service and Sisterhood.

Current Officers

President: Barbara Lugo
Vice-President/Membership Chairs: Jennifer Reilly and Kelly Uber
Treasurer: Janna Penkowski
Secretary: Jill Horozny
Safety Town: Stacy Lyles and Julie Pattie
Ways and Means: Carol Bacnik and Donna Modica
ERC: Tara Petroff

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter